RSA B-52 Hiss question
Sep 7, 2010 at 6:44 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

wsilvio

500+ Head-Fier
To those B-52 owners out there, how much background hiss do you hear?  I'm using the B-52 with a pair of HD-800's and I hear some background hiss even with the volume turned down.  Most of the time I can't hear it when music is playing, but during quiet passages it can be a little annoying.  Is this normal?  I ask because I bought this amp used so I have no idea what to expect regarding noise.  Also, I'm new to tube amps so maybe this is normal.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks,

will

Sep 7, 2010 at 7:26 AM Post #2 of 15
Do you hear it with your source plugged in or not?  There certainly shouldn't be any hiss low on the volume in an amp.  High up maybe.

Sep 7, 2010 at 8:16 AM Post #3 of 15
Hiss with source plugged in or not.  Hiss is there without any volume.  It's not very much, but it seems that an amp at this price point shouldn't have any.  Right?

Sep 7, 2010 at 8:26 AM Post #4 of 15
That certainly is rather weird. I've never had an amp which had hiss at zero volume with high-impedance headphones. Is it still within warranty? I'd contact Ray and see what he reckons is going on.

Sep 7, 2010 at 8:32 AM Post #5 of 15
I'll contact Ray and see if he has any ideas.  As far as the warrant goes, I think Ray's warranty is for 3 years, but I'm the third owner, so I have no idea the age of this amp.

Sep 7, 2010 at 8:58 AM Post #7 of 15
Unlikely to be one of the input tubes if it hisses at zero on the volume knob.
Has to be one of the output tubes.  Swap the output tubes side to side.

Sep 7, 2010 at 9:24 AM Post #8 of 15