Review: Westone AC20 Impressions and thoughts from a musician's perspective.
Jan 25, 2014 at 6:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

RiKToR

New Head-Fier
I have recently had the pleasure of obtaining a pair of Westone AC20 Musician Monitor’s.  These were recently released and replaced the Westone AC2 product.  Having read the review posted here on Head-FI, I realized that these monitors may have a different sound signature than their predecessor.  So with that in mind I will attempt to review them to the best of my ability.

Some background:  I am not necessarily an audiophile.  I am a musician. I have been playing guitar for 17 years and during that time I have picked up Keys, Drums, and Bass.  I am also a vocalist, however, I don’t consider myself the greatest at this and generally stick to BGV.  I have been playing on worship teams for 14 years mostly playing lead guitar.  I have never owned a pair of CIEMs so I have no reference for comparison to other CIEMs.  However, I have been searching high and low for sub $100 head phones that could meet the demands of being a universal IEM for our monitoring systems.  I have used the cheap of the cheap and some bigger names; Koss, Sony, Philips, Ultimate Ears, Shure, and Senheiser (to name a few).  I have mainly have issues with the glue coming apart or the cable going bad, which causes me to replace my headphones often.  I generally have these in my ears most of the time listening to music, audio books, and rehearsals in addition to the stage monitoring.  I am also a sound engineer, I have worked as an engineer for live performances, corporate events, and independent film work.  Nothing big name but enough to say that I know my way around sound tech stuff.  I tend to be budget conscious so I have never used the “big gun” toys unless they came on a rental.  My own gear is pretty conservative.  I just figured I would let you know a little more about me since I am new to Head-FI.