Review: JVC HA-FW10000 - freaking awesome
Mar 21, 2019 at 12:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

shigzeo

The Hiss King

This is the text of the full review with photos which I have posted at ohm image and can be read here:

ohmage to the JVC HA-FW10000.

TL;DR: I want this earphone. I want it bad.

NOTE: I'm a newbie to the new HF. I have no idea how to write a product review for the HA-FW10000. I looked for over an hour for the link to the FW10000 page. Apologies if I've missed it.

Disclaimer: I do not own this earphone. I want to own this earphone. I’ll do almost anything for this earphone. I borrowed it for a few days for a photo shoot and was only able to spend a handful of hours with it. For that reason, please consider this an immature review. It’s JVC’s latest-gen, and 10th anniversary, wood dome series earphone, which begun with the FX500 in 2008. It is glorious. It houses a single dynamic wood dome driver and, at e-Earphone,
goes for roughly 1550$ USD. You can find out all about it here: Everything for sound - FW10000.

Before earphones really blew up, I publicly flirted with a number of then-obscure Japanese earphones. FitEar was my biggest break. Final Audio was on its heals. In 2008 I snagged the HP-FX500, JVC’s first wood-dome earphone. I loved it. I hated it. Eventually I broke it. In its wake I was left with an FX500-shaped hole, defined by out-of-head staging and other wordly texture detail. I was also left with a weariness for its piercing highs. More than that, I was left with an ardent dedication to the dynamic driver. I’ve since scoured the market for dynamic driver earphones as impactful and detailed as the FX500. Sadly, not even JVC’s follow ups: the HA-FW02 (which I reviewed here), and the like, did the trick.