Rega Jupiter upgrades and mods
Jun 3, 2011 at 11:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

lolo

New Head-Fier
Hello kind people.  I'm new to installing upgrades and mod'ing my electronics.  What would be the first, second, and third mod for a Jupiter, or any CD player?  I'm not trying to accomplish any particular sonic change, just trying to make mo' better at what it already does.  Any thoughts?  Thanks for your time...and brilliance !........Lori

Jun 4, 2011 at 2:31 AM Post #2 of 7
Rega makes a fine product. I still love the old Planet I keep around. I might give it new power supply caps one of these days, but that probably wouldn't change the sound. It'd just ensure that it kept working well.

You might want to think about buying a DAC and using the Jupiter as a transport. Depending on the DAC, you might get better sound.

You might want to stay from the various companies that provide "mods." One notorious one puts epoxy on the chips and a few other finky things, then charges a lot of money. Others bypass capacitors with boutique ones and similar, but that can crowd the board and introduce heat dissipation and reliability issues. Also, a lot of people shy away from modded gear. I do, because the quality of the upgrades can be questionable. I only buy stock units or ones that have had parts replaced according to factory spec.

Jun 4, 2011 at 8:17 PM Post #3 of 7
Well hello, Uncle Eric.  It's an honor to meet you.  I've run into a number of your posts along the way.
Thanks for the DAC idea.  I will strongly consider that.  Do you have some good, cheap DAC's to recommend? 

Here's my ignorance showing again:  Does a CD player use coupling caps?  Some DIY folks say that upgrading 'cup caps', e.g. to V-Caps, can improve/clarify the sound.

Thoughts anyone?

Jun 5, 2011 at 3:32 PM Post #4 of 7

Quote:

Here's my ignorance showing again:  Does a CD player use coupling caps?  Some DIY folks say that upgrading 'cup caps', e.g. to V-Caps, can improve/clarify the sound.