Rega ear/Creek/HD600
Aug 18, 2006 at 3:14 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

skopje

New Head-Fier
Hi i am new to this forum, and would really appreciate some advice.

I am a musician and have just made the jump to recording on computer. I have sold my mixing desk and now have no headphone output.

I have also just bought a pair of HD600 headphones to join my HD 25s and beyerdynamic DT300s.

My aim is to get an acurate picture of the songs that i am mixing. I was a little dissapointed listening to the HD600s into my Marantz CD5000. On some CDs i had to have the volume up almost full and it distorted. Is it me or are the HD600s bass light?

Anyway yesterday i recieved a rega ear. I plugged in my HD600s expecting the world to ignite, now that the headphones were being driven properly. And it does sound slightly better than the marantz, but i was expecting a bit more clarity.

I am now looking into the creek headphone amps. Are they better than the rega ear?

many thanks in advance

stephen

Aug 18, 2006 at 3:59 AM Post #2 of 11
Quote:

Originally Posted by skopje
Hi i am new to this forum, and would really appreciate some advice.

I am a musician and have just made the jump to recording on computer. I have sold my mixing desk and now have no headphone output.

I have also just bought a pair of HD600 headphones to join my HD 25s and beyerdynamic DT300s.

My aim is to get an acurate picture of the songs that i am mixing. I was a little dissapointed listening to the HD600s into my Marantz CD5000. On some CDs i had to have the volume up almost full and it distorted. Is it me or are the HD600s bass light?

Anyway yesterday i recieved a rega ear. I plugged in my HD600s expecting the world to ignite, now that the headphones were being driven properly. And it does sound slightly better than the marantz, but i was expecting a bit more clarity.

I am now looking into the creek headphone amps. Are they better than the rega ear?

many thanks in advance

stephen