questions about resolution format/settings and what the DAC wil actually do of it.
Feb 8, 2017 at 9:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

musickid

Headphoneus Supremus
BASIC SOUND SCIENCE HELP NEEDED: could you all be kind enough to read through the following and tell me if im correct on all three points. im new to this relatively speaking. many thanks. MK. The first part from a fellow headfier.

"No idea. I have never used that DAC. Audio Midi Setup should allow you to choose the format at which you send data to the DAC and allow you to pick a different format. You will have no idea what the DAC does with the data unless you read the DAC docs are ask the DAC manufacturer support team.

I know that my DAC upsamples or downsamples everything to 24/176.4 or 24/192 if the format is different that one of those two. If the DAC is fed 24/176.4 or 24/192, no upsampling or downsampling is done. My DAC is particularly good at upsampling/downsampling so I send it the music in whatever format it is in natively. Audirvana changes the format on the fly. In other words, Audirvana does no upsampling or down sampling. The DAC does it all. Not all players do this."

MY RESPONSE: