Question: Sennheiser PC350 + Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Dec 6, 2012 at 5:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

Aelemar

New Head-Fier
Hello, I am pretty new to field of impedance and audio, and I was wondering if the combination of Sennheiser PC 350 + Creative X-FI Titanium HD is optimal.

The X-Fi has an output of up to 330Ohms on the headphone out, and the impedance of the PC350 is 150Ohms.

I have no idea how impedance works. Is it ok to plug in the Sennheisers into the X-fi, even though the headfi outputs much higher impedance?

I am considering using a CmoyBB amplifier as well, would this work better than directly to the card?

Thank you very much for your responses! My main concern is the impedance question :D

Dec 6, 2012 at 5:49 PM Post #2 of 22
The PC350 do work straight from the headphone out of the Titanium HD, but they will improve with additional amplification.

EDIT: Do you already have a Cmoy?

Dec 6, 2012 at 5:53 PM Post #3 of 22
Yes, I have the CmoyBB v 2.02 from JDS Labs. I have not used it with my new sound card though.
I used to have the Auzentech X-Fi Prelude, but my recent GPU configuration blocked off my PCI slot, so I had to switch to the X-FI Titanium HD.

I have had the Cmoy for quite a while now. How does the CmoyBB compare to other amplifiers nowadays?

Personally, I really liked my X-Fi Prelude (excellent card, and excellent components, based on reviews)

I wonder how does the Prelude compare to the X-FI Titanium HD?

Even my HD has to use a PCIE extension cable, heh.

Back on topic: So, the CmoyBB would truly make the PC350 shine then?

Thank you for your reply!

Edit: What's the impedance allowed by the CmoyBB amplifier? Haven't been able to find it online.

Dec 6, 2012 at 6:02 PM Post #4 of 22
I do agree that the X-Fi Prelude is a fine card. The Titanium HD improves further on that, DAC and component wise.

Wait, what do you mean by your HD having to use a PCIe extension cable?