Question about tube amps (now with review of Bravo V3 )
Dec 19, 2013 at 12:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 32

professorwiki

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

I've browsed this forum for a long time and decided to join. I recently ordered a Bravo V3 headphone amp which has a tube amplifier. Exactly how hot do these things get? It's just a little amp with a single tube, but would it be okay to set it inside a large area in my entertainment center near other electronics or should I set it on top of the entertainment center so it can get more air flow? 

I ordered this to go with my new Sony MDR-V6s which I am LOVING so far, but wanted to get that "tube"  sound everyone talks about. I consider myself a bit of an audiophile, at least as far as I can afford (I'm a recent college graduate working a part time retail job to save for the GRE), so I'm looking forward to this, but I just would like to know any safety tips or tips to prolong the longevity of the tube in it (I can't afford to go order a bunch of different tubes to try at the moment). 

Thanks all!

Dec 19, 2013 at 1:31 PM Post #2 of 32
I had a different tube amp, the Little Dot MKIII, and the tubes themselves would get very hot to the touch (like a lightbulb), but it didn't heat up the air around it. As long as your entertainment center is open (i.e. not a closed cabinet), you should be fine. If it wouldn't be difficult to put the amp on the top of your entertainment center, that would probably be best, but it shouldn't make that much difference as long as it's not totally enclosed. 

Dec 19, 2013 at 1:32 PM Post #3 of 32
  Hi all,