Putting vinyl onto a hard drive: Which program?
Jul 14, 2007 at 2:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

stevenkelby

Headphoneus Supremus
Hi guys, I have a friend with thousands of LP's that he wants to put on to his PC. I made a cable to plug RCA's into which plugs into one of the CD inputs internally on the card. I did this because I have an AV710 so it's free! He has a couple 500GB HD's ready.

Is this the right way to go?

What program do we use to record the LP's? Would WMP in WMA lossless be as good a quality result as anything? If not, what? And how? Sorry but I'm new to software, still trying to set up Foobar well and can't figure out how to burn a flac file to cd either but one thing at a time.

Thanks,

Steve.

Jul 15, 2007 at 4:57 AM Post #2 of 18
i use an rca->mini cable from my receiver to the line-in on my m-audio, then use Audacity (free!) or SoundForge (not free) to record. Once recording is finished, I do some spot-checking for crazy pops and what not and edit those out by hand in Audacity. Then I cut tracks from the single large file, name appropriately, and use a script I wrote to convert from wave -> flac.

That's how I do it, anyways.

Jul 15, 2007 at 8:45 AM Post #4 of 18
I've heard some mp3's recorded from LP's and I can always tell it is from an LP because I can hear the ticks and pops. Make sure to use a prog to try and remove those ticks and pops as much as is possible if you can. I find the ticks and pops annoying but some may filter them out naturally. I know I did back in my vinyl days but after so many years of CD (22 years now) I just can't ignore them any longer and is why I prefer CD to vinyl.

Jul 15, 2007 at 12:44 PM Post #8 of 18