Pro-ject RM10 Turntable as source
Dec 25, 2007 at 4:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

dcstep

100+ Head-Fier
It's good to see a few vinyl-heads populating Head-Fi, going toe to toe with the digit-heads. I searched and found most of the vinyl threads centered around entry level turntables below $500. That is certainly the way to wet your feet, but I thought I'd discuss the Pro-ject a little for those considering moving more deeply into vinyl.

First, a quick background on me. I've been an "audiophile" since around 1967 when I purchased my first Garrard/Scott intergrated/Jensen rig, with Koss cans and a Sony reel-to-reel. In the 1980s I had some Stax cans. I've been collecting vinyl since around 1960 and also have a large collection of CDs/SACDs and the beginnings of high-rez archival copies of my better D2D (direct-to-disk) recordings from the 1970s and 1980s.

My primary hobbies involve music, playing trumpet in several bands and orchestras and rhythm guitar in a big band where I'm also sub on lead trumpet. I played several years in a semi-pro funk/rock/soul band in Dallas. Soo, I hear and participate in live music on an almost daily basis.

My preferred audio rig is through speakers. I drive Vienna Acoustic Beethoven Baby Grand speakers with a Conrad Johnson CA200. When I can't listen to the speakers, like right now, I listen through AKG K701s driven by a Woo WA6. My digital sources are a Oppo 980 and a Korg MR1000 DSD recorder.

Back to the Pro-ject, I'm using it with a Sumiko Blackbird driving a Pro-ject Tube Head phono-preamp.