Please help with juicing Fischer FA-011
Oct 21, 2011 at 3:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

Gmork

Head-Fier
I just ordered a pair of Fischer FA-011's and I've read they benefit a lot from amping.

I'm new to the concept of amping, so I really need some advice.  What am I going to need to juice these things for as cheap as possible?

I need a decent soundcard I'm assuming, do I ALSO need an amp to go with it?  Any suggestions or information at all would be helpful.

I should also mention that portability is not a concern at all; this will be for one set up and the headphones will likely never leave this computer.

Oct 21, 2011 at 5:21 PM Post #2 of 15

Quote:
I just ordered a pair of Fischer FA-011's and I've read they benefit a lot from amping.

I'm new to the concept of amping, so I really need some advice.  What am I going to need to juice these things for as cheap as possible?

I need a decent soundcard I'm assuming, do I ALSO need an amp to go with it?  Any suggestions or information at all would be helpful.

I should also mention that portability is not a concern at all; this will be for one set up and the headphones will likely never leave this computer.

If you get an Asus card, they have an amp built in already. How much are you looking to spend?

Oct 21, 2011 at 8:21 PM Post #6 of 15
The Xonar DG is "0-150" Ohms. May as well go straight to the top, with Essence ST/X and be happy with both DAC & amp improvements. And it's shielded, too, so you don't get a bunch of noise like you would with DGs and DSs.

Oct 21, 2011 at 8:46 PM Post #8 of 15
Seems only the DG, Xense, and Essences have inbuilt amps. There's really not much improvement with the DG. I've noticed the bass on my headphones tightens and has more impact, but I don't know if that's just a change in source from iPod -> sound card. And turn the amp up, and you're greeted by background noise in quiet passages. You can't complain for the price, though.. You'll have to look elsewhere.