Players that Support Dynamic/On The Fly Playlists?
Feb 4, 2007 at 1:45 PM Post #4 of 20

Febs

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Posts
2,853
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by phosfiend /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Does Rockbox have this feature?


Yes, so you can have this feature on any Rockbox-supported player:
Archos Player, Recorder and Ondio
iriver H100 series, H300 series and H10 series
certain iPods
iAudio X5
Toshiba Gigabeat F and X series
 
Feb 4, 2007 at 2:08 PM Post #5 of 20

JES

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Posts
3,423
Likes
918
Location
MI
The stock X5 firmware has this feature, if I understand what you're talking about correctly. When I'm getting ready for a listening session, I'll fire up the first track that I want to hear. Then, I'll start sifting through the contents of all of the folders, clicking on tracks and selecting "Add to List". They're stored in a system directory called D-PLAYLIST. They just keep playing and playing
smily_headphones1.gif


I guess this is a dynamic playlist, right?
 
Feb 4, 2007 at 5:54 PM Post #6 of 20

phosfiend

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Posts
298
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by JES /img/forum/go_quote.gif
When I'm getting ready for a listening session, I'll fire up the first track that I want to hear. Then, I'll start sifting through the contents of all of the folders, clicking on tracks and selecting "Add to List". They're stored in a system directory called D-PLAYLIST. They just keep playing and playing
smily_headphones1.gif



Yessir, that's exactly what I'm talking about.
 
Feb 4, 2007 at 6:04 PM Post #7 of 20

arnoldsoccer4

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Posts
823
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by phosfiend /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Yessir, that's exactly what I'm talking about.


Archos 504 has it right out of the box, along with all the new models, and the old Archos all support rockbox.
 
Feb 4, 2007 at 8:49 PM Post #9 of 20

RubenNYC

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Posts
381
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by JES /img/forum/go_quote.gif
The stock X5 firmware has this feature, if I understand what you're talking about correctly. When I'm getting ready for a listening session, I'll fire up the first track that I want to hear. Then, I'll start sifting through the contents of all of the folders, clicking on tracks and selecting "Add to List". They're stored in a system directory called D-PLAYLIST. They just keep playing and playing
smily_headphones1.gif


I guess this is a dynamic playlist, right?



Quote:

Originally Posted by phosfiend /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Yessir, that's exactly what I'm talking about.


Oh, that's not what I had in mind when I mentioned the Karma and Vibez. They do support this, but many other players do, too. The Karma and Vibez just take it a few steps further allowing you to add music to the now playling list and control the order that the music is played. You can also change your mind and easily remove music from the now playing list. You can also reorder individual tracks within the list at any given time.

HTH.
 
Feb 4, 2007 at 9:59 PM Post #11 of 20

cooperpwc

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Posts
6,805
Likes
542
Quote:

Originally Posted by RubenNYC /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Oh, that's not what I had in mind when I mentioned the Karma and Vibez. They do support this, but many other players do, too. The Karma and Vibez just take it a few steps further allowing you to add music to the now playling list and control the order that the music is played. You can also change your mind and easily remove music from the now playing list. You can also reorder individual tracks within the list at any given time.

HTH.



Sounds like Rockbox on any of the supported players. You can Add to the dynamic playlist (following the last added song), add as the Next song, add as the Last song, or do any of those things as a Queue addition which just means it disappears from the playlist once played. You can also go directly to look at the dynamic playlist at any time and delete or reorder songs. EDIT: You can also do these things with entire albums or even entire artists.

I know that I made it sound complicated but it's actually completely simple. It's one of the biggest improvement over the iPod OS to my mind.
 
Feb 4, 2007 at 11:55 PM Post #12 of 20

RubenNYC

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Posts
381
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by cooperpwc /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Sounds like Rockbox on any of the supported players. You can Add the dynamic playlist (following the last added song), add as the Next song, add as the Last song, or do any of those things as a Queue addition which just means it disappears from the playlist once played. You can also go directly to look at the dynamic playlist at any time and delete or reorder songs.

I know that I made it sound complicated but it's actually completely simple. It's one of the biggest improvement over the iPod OS to my mind.



Yup, sounds exactly the same. On the Vibez they're listed as Insert (add song after selected track), Enqueue (add song after last added track), Append (add song to end of list). Once you choose on of these you have the option of adding a track, artist, album, genre and playlist. On the Vibez, I assume you can also select by folder, but don't quote me on that. You can also remove music from the now playing list by track, artist, album or genre.

One thing is certain: Now that I've been using this for 3+ years, I refuse to buy another player without it.
 
Feb 5, 2007 at 4:43 AM Post #13 of 20

Seufari

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 24, 2005
Posts
297
Likes
10
Does anyone know if the Gigabeat S series supports dynamic playlists?

I am getting one tomorrow and this is the single most important feature to me... I will not be keeping it if it doesnt have it...
 
Feb 5, 2007 at 5:50 AM Post #15 of 20

jinp6301

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Posts
3,910
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by Seufari /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Does anyone know if the Gigabeat S series supports dynamic playlists?

I am getting one tomorrow and this is the single most important feature to me... I will not be keeping it if it doesnt have it...




yes it does. its not a bad player, theres just some firmware problems that microsoft refuses to fix

ugh
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top