Noob!! Ikko + Blon = ??
Sep 27, 2020 at 5:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

sideways

100+ Head-Fier
I have 35 years of audio experience under my belt but this is the first time I'm trying iem's... through some reading here I picked up a pair of OH1's and BL-03's...

Plus - Ikko's stage front sound... midcentric I think you call it... really like that... up front without the treble shrill... fit is great... trying to find a foam tip that works... NewBee has lots of bottom end whereas the i-Planet ikko tips have way too much treble... need a compromise... not sure where to look.

I don't have much to say about the Blon's only that are somewhat enjoyable with a larger stage but further back in the mids. They don't fit good really on me... fiddle with them too much... the NewBee foams make them wearable and listenable... they will probably go to my wife LOL!!

I need the ikko's to be clearer and smoother without losing what they have otherwise... they can sound a tad grainy with some material... is that possible or am I looking at another iem?? And that's ok... like I said... first timer here... easy to pick wrong :)

I'd like to keep things under $200 if recommending a different iem if possible but things in the audio world don't always work that way. Otherwise any input is appreciated!!

Thanks!!

EDIT: BTW using a Fiio K5 Pro as an amp with computer as a source

Last edited:
Sep 27, 2020 at 6:01 PM Post #2 of 23
I would recommend that you get yourself a variety of different silicone tips. As foams change the sound a lot. And getting a good seal is one of the most important things for iems.

Final Audio Type E
Sony Hybrid (EP-EX11)
Spinfits CP145
JVC Spiral dot/spiral dot ++
AZLA sedanearfit

Those are my recommendations and I suggest that you get a few of each types (wide bore = Azla/JVC and Narrow bore = Type E/CP145, Hybrids)