Newbie: Recommend me an IEM.
Apr 15, 2011 at 9:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

motorsport226

New Head-Fier
Ok, so I'm very new to the audiophile scene, I bought my first 'real' pair of earphones a few weeks ago. (Senn MX 880 and I LOVE them)

I went for an earbud instead of an IEM because I need to be able to hear background noise to an extent in a lot of situations. Now, I am looking for an IEM to use for the rest of the time.

Ideally, I'm looking for something with an overall warm and smooth sound. Punchy, but not booming bass and as big of a soundstage as I can get. I wan't to be as fully immersed in my music as possible. I know that a set of cans would be much better but they're not practical for my lifestyle.

I have done numerous searches and read reviews but theres so many phones out there! I had no idea!

So any help would be greatly appreciated. My budget is around $100, ideally I'd like to stay closer to $50 but we'll see. Also, if you're selling something that fits this description I'm down for that option too.

Thanks all! :)

Apr 15, 2011 at 11:51 PM Post #2 of 14
Hm... if you're trying to get a good IEM, and dont mind spending abit more than your budget, the Monster turbine pro gold/copper are real good.

They sound very smooth, and have pretty good noise isolation. Bass is tight too.

Apr 15, 2011 at 11:57 PM Post #3 of 14
Hm, around the $50 range, the soundmagic PL-50s might fit your criteria.  Its bass is pretty punchy, and its soundstage is pretty good.  I'd definitely recommend you look into it.  Also, if you want to stay in the $50 range, try not to be tempted into spending the big bucks for something way more expensive, head-fi can do that to you.  Don't say I didn't warn you. :p

Apr 16, 2011 at 12:33 AM Post #5 of 14