Newbie looking for help, Senn HD558 or AT AD700 for gaming, low budget.
Sep 18, 2012 at 7:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

YutzWagon

New Head-Fier
Hey Y'all, I'm a major newbie and have been looking for some high-ish end headphones for gaming, some music and movies... And everything in the "gaming headset" category is garbage. So I've been doing some reading here and it appears the consensus is that a tape-modded 558 performs nicely for gaming as well as music and the like, plus generally being comfortable for big-headed gentlemen like myself.

Unfortunately, they're a bit out of my price range right now on Amazon, but I saw the Audio Technica ATH-AD700's are fairly highly rated and severely marked down right now on Amazon. I read that some people do use the AD700 for gaming, but I was unsure if they were using amps with them or not. I literally can not afford an amp. It pains me, but I just don't have the cash. What I do have the cash for is something in the $100 range and then maybe a zalman mic or modmic from Antlion if I can pull some favors.

Basically what I guess I'm asking is they AD700 going to be worth it without an amp, or should I just wait for a price drop on the 558's? I'm kind of anxious to just jump on something right now, 'cause I'm stuck with this crap-tastic headset that squeezes my ears and picks itself up on the mic at the moment after my trittons shattered.

I don't have a lot of experience in this new frontier, the closest things I owned to Audiophile headphones were some bose like 2 years ago. Yeah.
A couple other things I considered were the Astro A40 and some turtle beach sets but... Like I said, garbage. I may pick up an Astro Mixamp when I have the moneybux, but that won't be for quite a while.

Sep 18, 2012 at 9:23 PM Post #2 of 16
Quote: