Newbie here: "good" stereo speaker system for mp3 playback
Jun 29, 2012 at 7:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

anurag

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

Don't know if this is the right place to ask. I mainly listen to electronic dance music. I have Sony XB-500 headphones for 6 months. Its certainly not audiophile quality but I can get warm pleasing sound after using some equalization. (some cut in 3-6kHz range, and a little in 50-100Hz)

Recently I've purchased a cheap 2.1 system SRS-D8 from Sony, which has been truly disappointing so far. Even applying drastic equalization will not bring it anywhere near the smoothness and warmth of XB500. So, I am looking for a stereo system for playing high bit-rate mp3s that

1. has adequate response around 200-500Hz  (this is where my cheap 2.1 fails miserably)

2. must not be fatiguing, good to have attenuated treble like XB500 (especially in 3-6kHz range)

3. has response down to 40Hz

4.  the angle of sound emission should not be too narrow.

My budget is $500-1000. 

Jun 29, 2012 at 8:40 AM Post #2 of 9
Jun 29, 2012 at 3:00 PM Post #3 of 9
Quote:
Hi all,

Don't know if this is the right place to ask. I mainly listen to electronic dance music. I have Sony XB-500 headphones for 6 months. Its certainly not audiophile quality but I can get warm pleasing sound after using some equalization. (some cut in 3-6kHz range, and a little in 50-100Hz)

Recently I've purchased a cheap 2.1 system SRS-D8 from Sony, which has been truly disappointing so far. Even applying drastic equalization will not bring it anywhere near the smoothness and warmth of XB500. So, I am looking for a stereo system for playing high bit-rate mp3s that

1. has adequate response around 200-500Hz  (this is where my cheap 2.1 fails miserably)

2. must not be fatiguing, good to have attenuated treble like XB500 (especially in 3-6kHz range)

3. has response down to 40Hz

4.  the angle of sound emission should not be too narrow.

My budget is $500-1000.