Need help with linear regulated PSU
Jun 13, 2010 at 6:37 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Yoga Flame

500+ Head-Fier
I am considering obtaining a linear regulated PSU for use with my Aune mini dac+amp. The Aune officially takes 12V-18V, but can go as high as 24V. Ideally, I would like it somewhere below 24V, to be on the safe side.

This is a used PSU I found for sale, and it has a fixed output of 24VDC:

So my question is, can I tweak this PSU to reduce the output voltage? The blue wheel in the picture looks like it might allow that, but I'm a total noob in things like this so I can't be sure. Is that even a wheel? The manufacturer website doesn't seem to say anything about it either (http://www.tectrol.com/products/linear/).

Failing the "blue wheel", are there any modifications I could make to this unit to bring the voltage down to within 18V-22V?

Thanks for any help or suggestions you can give.

Jun 23, 2010 at 1:18 AM Post #3 of 6
Thanks. I did look at the TREAD, but decided against attempting it because while I have been soldering stuff here and there, I may not be competent enough to build it right now. I don't even have a multimeter yet. Besides, the used PSUs I was considering were selling really cheaply.

I ended up getting this PowerVolt BVA-24BS2.4 for $10 + shipping. This one has a trim pot clearly marked as "V. ADJ" for adjusting the voltage, and had a specs sheet that said the adjustment range is 10%. 21.6V seemed like a good figure for the Aune.

I used cheap speaker cable to hook up the -V and +V terminals. Connected it to a light bulb first to conclusively determine which direction of the pot was to decrease the output voltage. Haha. I really should get a multimeter.

It's not much to look at, and I should probably get an enclosure for it. But it works beautifully with the Aune.

Jun 23, 2010 at 5:32 PM Post #4 of 6
Definately get a multimeter.