Need Help in choosing the right on ear portable headphone
Sep 19, 2014 at 9:53 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

MoneJone

New Head-Fier
Well, I am new in here, and I am a beginner in the deep and wide world of high fidelity sound, so don't be too hard on me, please...
bigsmile_face.gif

I wanted to buy a portable headphone for my daily commute to Rome, where I am working. I am not an audiophile (or I guess I am not one of them yet, but I may easily become one in the near future, I am quite picky on audio quality)... by the way, I like good music and I care about the sound quality of what I listen to.
I like detail and instrument separation more than bass, so I'd rather prefer to avoid any bass heavy can. Sound stage is important too, but I know I can't expect much from  closed back cans... As for my gears, I own a pair of Klipsch image s4 as my favorite in ear and a pair of Audio Technica AD700, which I love... 

I have first pondered the Audio Technica m30x, the little (and cheaper) brother of the m50x, since I have read lots of positive reviews on this forum. But I have recently discovered the Harman Kardon Classic and the Aiaiai tma1 x, that are said to have great sound quality and to be fairly balanced... they are both on the same price, and they look far more portable than the m30x. I like the style of the Harman Kardon, but honestly style is not important... I give priority to sound quality, portability and noise isolation. 
Any suggestions?  Other cans I should consider?
My budget is around 100 euros (that is around 120 dollars).

Thank you for any advice... ^^

Sep 20, 2014 at 6:43 AM Post #2 of 24