Need help - HP amp with "proper" balance control
May 28, 2006 at 12:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

urs

100+ Head-Fier
Dear Colleagues,

Who can help me ?
I'm in search of a new “stationary” HP amp and I expect the following „specifications“

- Balance controls (I have a slight hearing imbalance), but if possible NOT the two-knob volume system, but proper volume & balance
- Two or more inputs (preferably selected from the front, of which one should be XLR
- Able to drive an IEM (e.g. the new Shure E500) – would switchable cross feed be an advantage ?

Needless to say: top sound, more along a "tubey", warmish sound.

I’m listening mainly to classical music, the unit will be driven at the end of a NAIM system.
…..and yes: my current standard is the STAX Omega & 007 T system, which I plan to keep of course. The above new IEM system is meant to be used as a supplement, when I don’t want to disturb other persons in the same room.)

Thanks for your suggestions &
Regards

Urs, Switzerland

May 29, 2006 at 10:08 AM Post #2 of 9
... no news ??

--> correction: the "integrated" balance & volume system, such as used by Stax would be OK, of course.

Urs

May 29, 2006 at 4:08 PM Post #3 of 9
2-chanel "level matching" an xlr input pretty much requires a dual-knob system.

you MAY be able to get alps to make you a 4-chanel balance pot, but you may also rather spend the money on soemthing else.

i vote towards a double pot arangement, in the interst of saving a decent bit of cash if nothing else. you will probably get stuck with the 2-knob arangement, as the "split knob" pots stax uses are somewhat hard to find.

May 29, 2006 at 4:40 PM Post #4 of 9