Need help choosing a USB DAC
Sep 25, 2008 at 6:42 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

GeoD

100+ Head-Fier
So I'm relatively new to Head-Fi and already took a plunge on a set of Denon AH-D2000 which I'm currently working on burning in.

I primarily use my headphones when working on my laptop. My current setup is as follows:

Laptop -> Turtle Beach Amigo -> Yamaha Reciever -> Denon AH-D2000's

The sound is an upgrade from my previous setup, but I know I'm not doing the phones any justice.

Ideally, I want to upgrade and go with a quality USB DAC and headphone amp. I've done some research but come up baffled on what is a quality option to go with. I'd like to keep the budget +/- $500 for the USB DAC and +/- $500 for the headphone amp. I originally was thinking of going with a PICO, but decided to do separate DAC + Amp combo.

I looked at the Keces DA-151 DAC based on a review here, but I wasn't able to find too many options as far as stand alone USB DAC's. Are there DAC's out there that I could use off of my laptop and my receiver? Say when I want to play Xbox360 or something?

The amp I'm leaning towards is the WooAudio6 if that helps.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I apologize if these are noob questions, but I have been reading and learning a lot, but still manage to be confused.

Cheers,

George

Sep 25, 2008 at 8:34 PM Post #3 of 21
Quote:

Originally Posted by imademymark /img/forum/go_quote.gif
you can still get the pico, and use it purely as a DAC. it's fantastic that way

Definitely still considering this since it would also amp my headphones until I upgrade to a dedicated amp. The portability is nice too. Definitely still a top contender, thanks imadeymymark!

George

Sep 25, 2008 at 8:55 PM Post #4 of 21
Geod,
Headroom may have some solutions for you such as the micros or ultra micros if you want a seperate DAC and amp, or if you want to combine the dac and amp i believe all of their dac options have a usb input.
Take a look at - Headroom

Dave