Need help choosing a Sennheiser headphone
Dec 18, 2017 at 2:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

Vanish

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, I'm a new member and also a noob one. I have very little knowledge about audiophile. My first pair are the Sennheiser HD 598. I bought it about 5 months ago after getting tired with cheap-easily-broken headphones. I'm very happy with my 598, used them mostly for gaming and movies. Now I looking for another pair to use at my workplace. And I'm so torn between HD 569, HD 598cs and HD 579.
After trying to read and watch reviews about them, I feel even more confused. I have some question:
- Are HD 569 and HD 598cs the same ? I mean they're both closed back, look similar, but are they really sound the same ?
- How the HD 579 performs compare to HD 598 ? I don't have much reference to compare to. So it'd be great if you guys could share your experience about the HD 579.
- Also I bought a Sennheiser 4.40 BT last month hoping to use it with my PS4 but ended up selling it because Sony slapped me in the face and said PS4 doesn't support bluetooth headphones :disappointed: And I don't really like the cold, harsh feel of 4.40 BT sounding. I like it warmer. And the around-ear pads made me stop using them after an hour because my ears hurt. I don't have this problem with the 598. So now I know I wanna look for a big, large over-ear ( circumaural ) headphones, warm sound with some more bass over my 598 ( I'm not a basshead) Closed back would be great but I don't mind open back either.
TL;DR: What should I buy HD 569, HD 598cs or HD 579 ? How they sound ? Are 569 and 598cs sound the same. A comparison of them all would be great.
And thank you ! :)

Dec 18, 2017 at 5:47 PM Post #2 of 21
1) the 569 and 598cs are not the same, the 598cs is essentially better but it's up to the buyer to decide if it's worth the extra money.
2) None of those are going to have a lot of bass, that's just Sennheisers signature sound. Perhaps try a different brand?