Need extension cable for AKG K1000
post-217287
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

mikeg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
3,171
Reaction score
11
Joined
May 4, 2002
Posts
3,171
Likes
11
I'd like to buy or fabricate a 15 ft. extension cable for an AKG K1000 headphone. Although I use a Grado 15 ft. extension cable for my SR325, I'd like to do the same for my K1000. Are there adapters that will let me use the Grado cable with both headphones? Please advise.
 
     Share This Post       
post-217359
Post #2 of 7

JMT

JMT Audio:PPA/META42 Amp Factory
Moderator
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
6,733
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
6,733
Likes
18
I don't have an answer to your question, but have you thought about sending an e-mail to James Serdechny (sp) of Stefan Audioart and inquire about an upgrade K1000 cable in a custom length? I know their normal upgrade cable is only 5', but you never know.

Just a thought.
 
     Share This Post       
post-217375
Post #3 of 7

mikeg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
3,171
Reaction score
11
Joined
May 4, 2002
Posts
3,171
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally posted by JMT
I don't have an answer to your question, but have you thought about sending an e-mail to James Serdechny (sp) of Stefan Audioart and inquire about an upgrade K1000 cable in a custom length? I know their normal upgrade cable is only 5', but you never know.

Just a thought.


I already have their 5 ft cable, and I don't actually want a longer one to replace it. What I'm looking for is an extension cable that can be connected between the 5 ft Stephan AudioArt cable and the headphone cable.
 
     Share This Post       
post-217377
Post #4 of 7

markl

Hangin' with the monkeys.
Member of the Trade: Lawton Audio
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
9,130
Reaction score
39
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
9,130
Likes
39
Doesn't the K1000 come with an adapter? If so, click on the Sonic Horizons link in my signature for lots of feedback on standard extensions...

Mark
 
     Share This Post       
post-217449
Post #5 of 7

mikeg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
3,171
Reaction score
11
Joined
May 4, 2002
Posts
3,171
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally posted by markl
Doesn't the K1000 come with an adapter? If so, click on the Sonic Horizons link in my signature for lots of feedback on standard extensions...

Mark


No adapter with my k1000. Thanks for trying to help, but none that I can see in the link.
 
     Share This Post       
post-217521
Post #6 of 7

gerG

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
2,374
Reaction score
10
Location
Arizona/Michigan
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Location
Arizona/Michigan
Posts
2,374
Likes
10
As an option, buy or fab a long interconnect and move your amp closer to where you listen.

The adapter is pretty simple, just a female 4 pin XLR and some wires. What do you drive your k1000s with?

gerG
 
     Share This Post       
post-217580
Post #7 of 7

mikeg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
3,171
Reaction score
11
Joined
May 4, 2002
Posts
3,171
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally posted by Greg Freeman
As an option, buy or fab a long interconnect and move your amp closer to where you listen.

The adapter is pretty simple, just a female 4 pin XLR and some wires. What do you drive your k1000s with?

gerG


I use an ASL AQ-1005DT power amp. with an ASL Passive TIDT preamp. Most of the time I sit very near the amp. and benefit from the short cables. But, sometimes I walk around the room, and it's for these occasions that I want the extension.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top