Need amp advice for sennheiser hd595
Dec 7, 2010 at 2:33 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

colmustard

100+ Head-Fier
Hello,
i'm new to high quality sound equipment, but trust me I ain't going back 
beyersmile.png

I have a pair of Sennheiser hd595's on their way and I want to get the best experience possible out of them. I've never purchased an amp before so I really don't know what I should be looking for.

I read somewhere that KECES makes a headphone dac amp? Thoughts/Suggestions?

EDIT: Also it would be nice if the amp supported optical audio, my soundcard supports SPDIF so that would be ideal.

Also I can't afford to spend more than 200 :frowning2:

Other Thought: I have a logitech z5500. The control panel for the system has a headphone out. I connect the control pod to my laptop through an optical cord, would this do the trick?

Dec 9, 2010 at 1:55 AM Post #2 of 7
Update:

I'm seriously considering the fiiO e9 as an option, is this a good decision? I would also get the fiiO e5 for use with my ipod if I went with this.

Dec 9, 2010 at 4:00 AM Post #3 of 7
Hi, if you do go for the E9, why not get an E7 for portable use? Micca Store has a bundle for US$199 including ground shipping:
http://www.miccastore.com/fiio-desktop-headphone-amplifier-black-p-42.html?osCsid=4920fcd6cb26024326fe43f2f0c589a6

Especially since the E7+E9 can work together as a DAC+Amp. 

*Disclaimer: I don't have any of these products, but it seems like a lot of Head-Fi'ers are buying that pairing.

On the other hand, why buy an amp when you haven't even tried your 595 yet?

Dec 9, 2010 at 1:11 PM Post #4 of 7
Im not sure if I want to spend that much for the e7+e9, does the e9 do the trick on its own? From all the reviews I've read they had the e7 docked on the e9

Dec 9, 2010 at 8:25 PM Post #5 of 7