MQA 3rd unfolding
Nov 25, 2019 at 12:45 PM Post #16 of 21

bigshot

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Posts
23,412
Likes
4,936
Location
A Secret Lab
Sounds like a waste of money to me.
 
Nov 25, 2019 at 1:40 PM Post #17 of 21

iridium7777

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Posts
204
Likes
32
Location
USA
if you're building an "MQA system" from scratch i'd agree, seeking this stuff out is a waste of money -- but then again so is probably everything else in this hobby.

but, if you already get tidal for whatever reason it's included, if you buy any modern dac it may already have MQA decoder built in - so why not?

as i said, i wouldn't actively seek it out, but it just happened that the mediums that i have already support it.

Sounds like a waste of money to me.
 
Nov 26, 2019 at 2:46 PM Post #18 of 21

hiilari

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Posts
19
Likes
15
Like most, my only source of MQA music is Tidal. And since I mainly use it on Windows desktop app, it seems like the software unfolding is all I need. Good info. So RME it is.

Since RME gives me good EQ capabilities. On speakers, killling those 100 - 400 Hz room modes is by far more important than CD vs. HiRes. And so far I prefer good 'old parametric eq for this over Diracs and other more modern options. For EQ I now use Equalizer APO in Windows which in turn means I cannot use the bit-perfect exclusive mode - so all MQA stuff is gone when using speakers. Of course with headphones no EQ is needed, at least not by me.
 
Nov 27, 2019 at 7:39 PM Post #19 of 21

sonitus mirus

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Posts
1,849
Likes
653
Like most, my only source of MQA music is Tidal. And since I mainly use it on Windows desktop app, it seems like the software unfolding is all I need. Good info. So RME it is.

Since RME gives me good EQ capabilities. On speakers, killling those 100 - 400 Hz room modes is by far more important than CD vs. HiRes. And so far I prefer good 'old parametric eq for this over Diracs and other more modern options. For EQ I now use Equalizer APO in Windows which in turn means I cannot use the bit-perfect exclusive mode - so all MQA stuff is gone when using speakers. Of course with headphones no EQ is needed, at least not by me.

I'm using Roon along with both a Tidal HiFi and Qobuz Studio Premier streaming subscriptions with an RME ADI-2 DAC. Roon is sending a lossless signal to my DAC, where I am employing the wonderful parametric EQ to correct for the room, or rather to correct the speakers for my room. It's been fantastic. The RME DAC has so many cool features and it measures as well as anything I've read about or heard. If you stream Tidal, Roon will also perform the software decode of MQA up to 24/96. The dirty not so secret issue with MQA is that anything higher than 96kHz sample rate is not decoded to musical content no matter what DAC anyone is using. This is where the lossy issue of MQA has been uncovered where the high and low bands are split.

https://audiophilestyle.com/forums/...porware/page/491/?tab=comments#comment-938691
 
Nov 28, 2019 at 4:59 PM Post #20 of 21

hiilari

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Posts
19
Likes
15
I'm using Roon along with both a Tidal HiFi and Qobuz Studio Premier streaming subscriptions with an RME ADI-2 DAC. Roon is sending a lossless signal to my DAC, where I am employing the wonderful parametric EQ to correct for the room, or rather to correct the speakers for my room. It's been fantastic. The RME DAC has so many cool features and it measures as well as anything I've read about or heard. If you stream Tidal, Roon will also perform the software decode of MQA up to 24/96. The dirty not so secret issue with MQA is that anything higher than 96kHz sample rate is not decoded to musical content no matter what DAC anyone is using. This is where the lossy issue of MQA has been uncovered where the high and low bands are split.

https://audiophilestyle.com/forums/...porware/page/491/?tab=comments#comment-938691

Sounds like you've got a really nice setup going
 
Jul 22, 2021 at 9:54 PM Post #21 of 21

seanjoe

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Posts
62
Likes
20
MQA is like lossy. It's audible transparency, just in a smaller package. The thing is, AAC is audible transparency in an even smaller package, and AAC isn't burdened with proprietary DRM and limited source and playback options. MQA is basically making things harder on yourself for no reason, but that is something audiophiles do all the time.
this explain me a lot.. thanks.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top