Looking for a warmer sound than my AKG-K712, but with enough detail
Oct 16, 2014 at 10:22 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

ToTje

100+ Head-Fier
Hello there, newbie here! 
smily_headphones1.gif

I bought an AKG-K712 a while ago and I am incredibly satisfied with its sound with most songs: the soundstage, the details, almost everything!
My Objective2 and ODAC improved the sound even further, so listening to old songs really is a discovery trip: all those extra little sounds, the soundstage and even some voices and instruments suddenly sound completely different than before!

However, with some laid back songs I just like a bit more warmth and with rock/metal the heavy guitars also may be a bit more powerful, without sacrificing the rest of the music too much.
I really don't like my Denon AH-D1100 anymore since I got the K712. The bass is a little bit over the top and the treble is terrible. I do like the middle part though. Voices sound pretty nice.

So I'm looking for something with a little bit more oomph in the lower regions for heavy guitars, without sacrificing the vocals and the nice little details and airiness too much, although after a long evening, the treble of the K712 can be a little bit too much. (Preferrably no closed cans)

Now, I can buy a HD650 rather cheaply. I understand it has a nice, warm sound and the treble is a bit more subtle but still present and quite detailed. Could this be a good choice for me?
I don't need a thundering bass or a headphone that is good for extremely fast and complex music; I like my current one very much for that.
Trying it out isn't really an option since the seller lives quite far away. Testing other headphones also isn't really an option since I live in the middle of nowhere.
To make matters even a bit more complex: the music I love most of all is symphonic/gothic metal: roaring guitars, heavy male grunts combined with sensitive violinplay, heavenly piano music and angelic female vocals.