Laptop and line out?
Sep 7, 2009 at 4:56 AM Post #2 of 16
I'm no expert here, but I think your best bet would be using a USB DAC.

Sep 7, 2009 at 6:11 AM Post #7 of 16
USB->S/PDIF digital coax converter. Bella Canto makes one, also there are some listed on Cryo-parts website. They will take your usb and convert it to the digital input for your dac if it doesn't have a usb input.

Sep 7, 2009 at 7:04 AM Post #8 of 16
There are some cheap external usb soundcards which have optical s/pdif out, likethe Behringer UCA-202...for 30$ you have bitperfect digital audio ( just use asio drivers ) to feed an external dac.

Sep 7, 2009 at 7:41 AM Post #9 of 16
Quote:

Originally Posted by Teraflame /img/forum/go_quote.gif
my laptop only has headphone jack and mic inputs. How do I use line out to go to an external dac?

Which laptop do you have?

Sep 7, 2009 at 11:34 AM Post #10 of 16
You don't feed a DAC from a line out. You feed it digital data from a USB, Fire Wire, optical, or digital coax output. Your computer has one or more of those. Look for compatible DACs.

P

Sep 7, 2009 at 4:40 PM Post #11 of 16
USB -> USB to S/PDIF converter -> DAC

Sep 7, 2009 at 9:35 PM Post #12 of 16
Quote:

Originally Posted by Teraflame /img/forum/go_quote.gif
my laptop only has headphone jack and mic inputs. How do I use line out to go to an external dac?

As others have stated already, you need a USB to SPDIF converter. There are several and all depends on your budget. Here are a few examples-

TBAAM

dded024128a0b334593c001.jpg

Behringer UCA202

uca202.jpg

Musiland Monitor 01USD

00002220.jpg

00002221.jpg

Pop Pulse PC Link II

pctrans2.jpg

I have all of the above and all work as described and achieve bit-perfect playback w/ ASIO, ASIO4ALL, Kernel Streaming, Wasapi...

Here is a thread that I did some tests with the UCA202 & TBAAM

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f46/be...erfect-440809/

And here is my Pop Pulse in action behind the scenes and out of sight (using 2 inputs and 4 outputs)