JUST PURCHASED SENNHEISER HD580, wondering what amp is good for my specific needs.
Aug 13, 2009 at 1:29 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

GOLDENZEAL

100+ Head-Fier
I just purchased the sennheiser HD580's today and they sound ok directly from my ipod touch 2nd gen but it is missing the airy sound of my HD555's. I believe this is because it is 300ohms VS 50ohms. How can I make them have this same airy, full sound and see also the benefits of my upgrade, in terms of a portable amp. Will a portable amp just increase the sound or would it increase the sound quality. I searched and came across FiiO E5 (heard it will only increase volume), CMOY (don't know much about it but have seen some on ebay for $50 and less), and PICO (don't know much about it). Basically I want something the increases the sound quality, volume, is kind of portable to move around in my house at least, and doesn't cost so much (maybe $50 or less). Is there something like this even available? I am kind of new to the over the head headphone scene. Thank You.

Aug 13, 2009 at 6:43 AM Post #5 of 31
Ok thanks, I am seeing the pattern, so nothing under $50 is even worth it. What then, would be the best amp for these headphones for the best price, I am guessing anything would have to start at $100+. Maybe if it gets too expensive it might be best to sell them back to someone who can supply them with their due amp and maybe buy the HD595's since they are 50ohms i believe also like my HD555's?

Aug 13, 2009 at 6:56 AM Post #6 of 31
I think the cheapest option for you to get an airier sound is probably to just buy the ATH-AD900 phones, the common consensus is that they are better sounding than the HD595s. Unless you go high end amp and dac, nothing will change the sound signature of your phones that much.

Aug 13, 2009 at 7:09 AM Post #8 of 31