Is sound stage size an artifact or on the recording?
Jun 20, 2022 at 5:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 34

emlin

New Head-Fier
I'm a newbie here but have been looking around, so sorry if this is a stupid question.

When iems/headphones are described as having a large soundstage, does that mean that the iem/headphone is imparting said soundstage, or does it mean that the soundstage of the recording is being accurately rendered?

Thanks,
Pete

Last edited:
Jun 21, 2022 at 1:21 AM Post #2 of 34
Is sound stage size an artifact or on the recording?

It depends on where the mic is relative to the instrument or the amplifier+speaker through which the electronic instrument produces sound as well as how they're panned in either channel when the track gets mastered.

You put mics on either side of the drum set and you get a drum roll that pans from one side to the other and back and forth if Mike Portnoy decides to go backtrack and then back to his right (listener left).

You get a similar thing if you're recording a grand piano properly, but a keyboard spits sound out of one speaker. That's why you can hear classical piano recordings, except you hear it the other way around vs a drum set because chances are grand pianos are recorded to playback like how you would hear it when you play it.* So you play back a recording of classical pianist in some concert where everybody's in a tux and gown, you hear it like you're trying to learn it; by contrast, play a Kamelot or Nightwish CD, and Oliver Palotai synthesizing a piano will be to the left of Casey Grillo or over where Jukka Nevalainen will be later in the track, then around the same spot and maybe a little behind the drummers if synthesizing a string section of an orchestra in the louder parts.