Is it better to turn off amps every time after use or leaving it always on?
Jun 14, 2013 at 4:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

Chik0240

100+ Head-Fier
Dear Fellows,
    Since most amps no matter solid state like the bursons or the tube amps, it was recommended that everytime after turning on the amp to wait a period before actually using the amp to get better result, leaving the amp always seemed to be a better option, but since it will continuously draw in power, will it be better for the amp's life if I only switch it on after I prepare to use it? I am only a noob head-fier and daily listening sections will range from 1-3 hrs only.

Thanks

Jun 18, 2013 at 5:36 PM Post #2 of 18
I would say, that if you're only using an amp 1-3 hrs a day, turn it off.  Otherwise, you're potentially wasting a lot of power, and tubes do wear even while the amp is on but not being used.

In my case, I listen during the day at work, anywhere from an hour to up to 4 hrs a day, so I turn stuff on when I first listen, and then off at the end of the day.  Seems like a good compromise to leaving stuff on all the time, vs only when I'm actually listening.

Jun 18, 2013 at 8:30 PM Post #3 of 18
Quote:
Dear Fellows,
    Since most amps no matter solid state like the bursons or the tube amps, it was recommended that everytime after turning on the amp to wait a period before actually using the amp to get better result, leaving the amp always seemed to be a better option, but since it will continuously draw in power, will it be better for the amp's life if I only switch it on after I prepare to use it? I am only a noob head-fier and daily listening sections will range from 1-3 hrs only.

Thanks

Your solid state ON always. For tube amps of course not.

Jun 19, 2013 at 10:28 AM Post #6 of 18