iM716 + Foamies = Awesome
Oct 19, 2006 at 7:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

3X0

Headphoneus Supremus
I got a chance to really try the iM716 with the foamies today. I must say that they were quite intimidating to insert. Even when rolling them in between my fingers thoroughly, they seemed to expand rapidly as I shot them into my canals, resulting in a painful, abrasive feeling in my ears. After several tries, I found that the best method (in my experience) is to simply squeeze them (rather than roll them around) and quickly press them into my earholes. This was awkward because I normally consider my ear canals fairly large compared to the average ear. I'd hate to think how someone with small canals would put the foamies in.

Anyway, it seemed a lot more comfortable on the third or fourth try. Isolation seemed to be instantly superior to the tri-flanges without half as much effort to get the right seal. This was without any music playing, however. When I started playing "After All" by Delerium, I was flat-out amazed.

This IEM sounds amazing!

As controversial as it may be, I honestly like these monitors more than my ER4 now. They're not more analytical. They're not more detailed. They don't have the same level of clarity. However, these phones have body. I'll be honest, I never realized how lean my ER4 was until after this revelation. Now that I've found heaven in the foamies, I might relegate my ER4 to the closet (and take them out for classical music, which I rarely listen to anymore). It seems with one tip change I've realized what bass and body is in an IEM. It's even better that it's all still extremely articulate and defined bass; none of that muddy rubbish that plagues so many headphones and IEMs alike.