I need some advice
Dec 31, 2006 at 6:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Gladcow

Head-Fier
Hi everyone, im new to this audiophile hobby and this is my first post so sorry ahead of time if i ask something stupid. my situation is that i recently got a pair of px100 for christmas. its perfect for carrying around with my ipod but ive been interested in a pair of cans to use around my house for my computer, watching movies, or playing video games. then i was also interested in getting a portable amp for my px100. i figure if i get a pocket amp 2 and a dock line out cable for my ipod that should run me like 100 usd. for my home i was originally interested in some closed cans like a k81djs or a hd280pro. then i figured if its just for my room that i might as well aim a little higher for an open can because they are generally better sounding right? im trying to keep my price under $200 for headphones so i was looking at perhaps a pair of dt880's or a hd595.

basically if i aim for teh higher priced headphones will i be able to get away with just using my portable amp to power them(i know the 595's wont typically be a problem but just in general). i want something that will sound ok until i can budget a better amp. i know this is a long post but im afraid to buy anything without some guidance from those who know more so thanks a lot for any responses ahead of time.

*edit* and oh yea happy new year everyone
smily_headphones1.gif

Jan 1, 2007 at 12:53 PM Post #2 of 9
No answers?

Well, in the 200$ price range there are other options although I like the Beyers. They should indeed sound quite a bit better than the closed heaphones you were thinking about (although there are a nice sounding closed headphones as well).
Make sure you read about the sonic characteristics and the problems people have had with a headphone before buying it... or better yet: try it first.