How secure is PayPal?
Nov 26, 2006 at 9:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 33

Chopha

100+ Head-Fier
Hello folks!

I have decided to order a pair of Liberators and the guys at Dark-Audio want me to pay by using PayPal. I have never used PayPal before and I wonder how secure it is? After I send my money from my user-account to his user-account at Dark-Audio, how do I know that he will send me my package when he receives my money?
Not that I don't trust Dark-Audio, but what incurrence do I have that I get what I pay for?

/Chopha

Nov 26, 2006 at 9:29 PM Post #2 of 33
Have used PayPal 15-20 times and never had any problem; it seems to me that if you use a credit card via PayPal and the seller defaults then you have a cause of action against PayPal, so it gives some security. I wouldn't like to test it, though. Make sure that you're reasonably confident of the seller, and expect to take some risk.

Nov 26, 2006 at 9:39 PM Post #3 of 33
PayPal is as secure as any other form of payment. It’s more secure than giving a waiter your credit card to take back and swipe.

Any transaction is only as good as the people you are dealing with. You should be researching Dark-Audio’s reputation not PayPal.

Using PayPal with a Credit Card ads another layer of safety. PayPal gives like 30 days to dispute a transaction but the Credit Card Company will work with you up to 90 days depending on your Credit Card.

The real key is dealing with reputable Sellers. Regardless of how you pay recovering your money from a bad transaction will be difficult if not impossible.

Mitch

Nov 26, 2006 at 9:54 PM Post #4 of 33
Used Paypal for all of my Ebay transactions (using debit card) and i've had zero problems with it, like braillediver said just make sure your careful about who your sending money to.

Nov 26, 2006 at 9:57 PM Post #5 of 33
Thank you guys for the answers and maybe should I change the question to: