How do you choose speaker wire?
Jan 13, 2005 at 9:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

dallasstar

100+ Head-Fier
Hi. As I've said in another thread, I'm kinda new to speakers (coming from headphones). I've finally gotten my speakers and amp set up, and the sound is beautiful. However, now I want to make sure I'm making the most of this setup. To start, I just got some cheap speaker wire at Radio Shack. The guy there said that since I'm only using a 15 watt amplifier, that I should use 24 gauge wire. He said that thicker wires will make my sound "get lost in the wiring." This sounds like total BS to me, and this wire seems really thin as well. Anyway, the point of this thread is to help me choose some wire properly (and also to tell me What that Radio Shack guy was talking about). I want some very good speaker wire that will be good for use as approximately 10ft long, and will be good for the Sonic Impact T Amp + bookshelf speakers. I'm hoping to spend only 20 bucks, but I can go up to 100 bucks if I save up (and I will never even think of going over 100). Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks for the help, guys.
biggrin.gif

Jan 13, 2005 at 10:24 PM Post #2 of 8
Quote:

Originally Posted by dallasstar