How do you backup your music?
Jun 21, 2014 at 9:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Fuzziekiwi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2012
Posts
1,313
Likes
104
Thinking of buying an external hard drive to back up my music, what programs do you use? Windows backup or just manually copy and paste everything? Like to hear what you guys use. 
 
Jun 21, 2014 at 10:13 PM Post #2 of 19

NA Blur

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Posts
4,623
Likes
731
Backup mine onto a solid state drive manually.  Click and drag large pieces of my library at a time and move those pieces over to the SSD.  The idea behind the SSD is to have no moving parts that could fail during storage and something that can resist an accidental drop.
 
Jun 21, 2014 at 10:15 PM Post #3 of 19

Fuzziekiwi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2012
Posts
1,313
Likes
104
edit
 
Jun 21, 2014 at 10:16 PM Post #4 of 19

Fuzziekiwi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2012
Posts
1,313
Likes
104
  Backup mine onto a solid state drive manually.  Click and drag large pieces of my library at a time and move those pieces over to the SSD.  The idea behind the SSD is to have no moving parts that could fail during storage and something that can resist an accidental drop.

Yeah I know, too expensive though. 
 
Jun 22, 2014 at 12:45 AM Post #5 of 19

moriez

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Posts
4,844
Likes
1,979
Location
da sweet spOt
I use SyncBack free version to synchronize from the internal onto a cheap 320GB Intenso external disk. I also keep a second external backup at my parents place just in case. There's just no way I'm risking losing a library build over more than 10 years.
 
Jun 22, 2014 at 2:43 AM Post #6 of 19

skimminst

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Posts
71
Likes
14
Yes, keeping data offsite is a good idea.
 
Anyway, I am sticking to a command line solution with XCOPY and the /V option -to have the copied files verified!
 
Jun 22, 2014 at 2:57 AM Post #7 of 19

Lorspeaker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Posts
7,277
Likes
520
anyone using WD CLOUD? which music format u put up there...glitches..any? 
 
Jun 23, 2014 at 8:53 PM Post #8 of 19

bigshot

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Posts
23,412
Likes
4,936
Location
A Secret Lab
My media server is four daisy chained Drobos with a combined 75TB. If a drive fails on one of the Drobos, I can replace it and the other three drives in the drobo will recreate the missing disk. Not fool proof, but pretty dependable.
 
Jun 23, 2014 at 9:06 PM Post #9 of 19

Lorspeaker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Posts
7,277
Likes
520
75 terabites..!!???!!!! thats 30lifetime of music !!!!  wow...fantastic!!!!
 
Jun 23, 2014 at 9:19 PM Post #10 of 19

bigshot

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Posts
23,412
Likes
4,936
Location
A Secret Lab
It's movies too. The media server drives my projection system too. All runs off a Mac mini connected by Airport to the rest of the house.
 
Jul 5, 2014 at 11:52 PM Post #12 of 19

Music Alchemist

Pokémon trainer of headphones
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Posts
20,092
Likes
2,135
I use this. 12 TB, and the data protection features are nifty! I'll graduate to a proper music server eventually... Oh, and I manually manage everything - meticulously!
 
Jul 6, 2014 at 3:14 AM Post #13 of 19

bigshot

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Posts
23,412
Likes
4,936
Location
A Secret Lab
That's like my drobos. Have you had to reconstruct a drive yet? If so, how long does it take. It takes five days with the drobo
 
Jul 6, 2014 at 5:45 AM Post #14 of 19

Lorspeaker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Posts
7,277
Likes
520
after reading up on the WD CLOUD, n the Seagate Central...i gave up,
horrid postings on slow transfers n dropped linkups..etc.
 
Bought a regular portable 2TB diskdrive..
and backup another set of my music, n slept well. :p
 
Jul 6, 2014 at 5:47 AM Post #15 of 19

Music Alchemist

Pokémon trainer of headphones
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Posts
20,092
Likes
2,135
  That's like my drobos. Have you had to reconstruct a drive yet? If so, how long does it take. It takes five days with the drobo


No problems yet! I should probably back up the data onto more portable drives lying around, just in case.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top