High end headphones without an amp
Nov 15, 2006 at 8:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 41

elbow

New Head-Fier
Hi there,

I'm looking for a new set of headphones and desperately need some advise before I drown in information.
blink.gif

The headphones will be used indoor only, most of the time connected to my Denon S-301 system (supporting Dolby headphone). I do not want a dedicated headphone amplifier, but I'm not sure how much "juice" the headphone outlet is capable of delivering (how can I find out)?

I mostly listen to rock/indie/alternative/singer-songwriters, and will perhaps use the headphones for a movie from time to time (no priority). I have little experience with headphones, so I really don't know which "sound picture" to look for, but I want a generally high quality, natural sound (if that makes any sense).

I've been drooling a bit on the Sennheiser HD650/HD600, but I've read over an over again that those are a waste of money without a dedicated amp. Is this true even though I'm only going to use them with my Denon receiver?

Any suggestions/advice are most welcome!
cool.gif

Nov 15, 2006 at 8:36 PM Post #2 of 41
Yep, being a Sennheiser fan, I can say that the 600s and 650s need a headphone amp for the genres you listed. However, there is hope. Think about the HD595......it's lower impedence, has the same drivers as the 600s, and are more forward sounding (good for rock). They're really good for movies. They should sound pretty good through the Denon.

Quote:

Originally Posted by elbow

I've been drooling a bit on the Sennheiser HD650/HD600, but I've read over an over again that those are a waste of money without a dedicated amp. Is this true even though I'm only going to use them with my Denon receiver?

Any suggestions/advice are most welcome!
cool.gif

Nov 15, 2006 at 9:09 PM Post #4 of 41
Hey, it's a Sennheiser.....it's got the bass
very_evil_smiley.gif