Hey,acronyms here...get your red hot acronyms here...IMHO
Dec 13, 2010 at 9:33 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

HonestBlues

Head-Fier
SOB...this place has the most acronyms I have seen since the last Army Aviation training school I attended prior to my retirement.And after being either in the Army and working as a civilian helicopter mechanic for 35 years,I have some experience with numerous ATT's (abbreviated technical terms).I find myself spending many MPR (minutes per review) searching for the many and varied included acronyms.Of course,I find that my LOE (level of entertainment) is enhanced the more I read and research these things.In closing,I have had a great informative time since I found this site and although the potential DTB (damage to budget) may be great,the many posters and their varied opinions are wonderful.Of course,depending upon your personal level of audiophile forum experience,YMMV (your mileage may vary).
atsmile.gif

Dec 13, 2010 at 1:53 PM Post #3 of 12

Quote:
I'm afraid I have to arrest you on a very common mistake.
Very few, if any, of the suggestions you present here are in fact acronyms.

Yeah, don't acronyms have to be pronounced the way they are written? :p 

My friends got me on that once.

Dec 13, 2010 at 2:12 PM Post #4 of 12

Quote:
Quote:
I'm afraid I have to arrest you on a very common mistake.
Very few, if any, of the suggestions you present here are in fact acronyms.

My friends got me on that once.

Like "esse o el"?

Dec 13, 2010 at 2:21 PM Post #5 of 12
Like NATO, I think.

Dec 13, 2010 at 2:57 PM Post #7 of 12

Quote:

So things that can't be pronounced, like BBQ, TBH and AFAIK, are just simple abbreviations?

Dec 13, 2010 at 3:16 PM Post #8 of 12
I believe so, I think that the word for those is 'Initialisms.' I don't think that there are actual rules, it's probably totally fine to call anything like that an acronym. It's just another way that teenage know-it-alls can try to be annoying.