help with another headphone
Nov 8, 2009 at 11:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

utkusu

100+ Head-Fier
First of all, Damn you ALL!
smily_headphones1.gif
I was so happy listening to my sony fontopia headphones and now because of this forum (and some other twists of fate), I catch myself dreaming about 200 dollar headphones and other audio stuff. I almost bought 250$ audioengine2's and my fiance stopped me by reminding me that I am just a poor grad student. So I will stick to my KSC75's and newly ordered RE2+Fiio E5 combo. Still, I had no idea there is something called "headphone amplifier" two-three weeks ago.

Jokes aside, I really like this forum, people were most kind and helpful in my previous purchase. Now, I am trying to get some earphones for my fiance. I was hoping to get some direction from you guys. Here is a list of things that we need:

* She does not care how they sound , but I do. I want her to get used to decent headphones so she understands it when I drop couple hundred bucks to audio equipment
smily_headphones1.gif

* She wants earphones (buds). She hates both KSC-75 ("they are too big") and EP-630 (microphonics and "too much into my ear") I would get her the PK3's but because she has giant ear openings, earphones usually don't fit well. She used to have Roots (!!!) headphones with a clip to alleviate that problem. So we need them to have some sort of clip or something else to help to keep the earbud in her ears.

* Nothing to expensive (30-40 CAD tops) and hopefully easily available in Canada.

Any advice would be appreciated.

cheers,

Nov 8, 2009 at 11:37 PM Post #2 of 5
So... you've eliminated supraaurals, IEMs, and conventional earbuds? There really isn't much left - just the senn sports line and a few oddball phones such as the Koss KDE250 (and the Skullcandy Chops - bleh). Most of those aren't talked about on head-fi a while lot. I remember someone asking about earbuds with a headband once, and getting next to no responses.