Help: Supermacro static / distortion
Oct 19, 2005 at 5:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

nanahachi

Head-Fi FAQ(s) Volunteer
**I am sure this has been addressed before, so please link me up if this is a blatant repost**

I am sick, and just want to listen to some tunes at work to make the day go by more quickly.

However, I am getting lots of distortion from my Supermacro V3. Yes, the batteries may be drained, thus it would make sense why I am getting static. However, I plugged in my recently-received Coby AC adapter and plugged it into the SM. Still, I am getting the distortion.

I will try charging the batteries tonight at home, but is there anything I can do while here at work?

The amp does not power on with only the AC adapter plugged in, without batteries. (I'm new to the adapter, and have yet to read up on its functionality. bad me.)

thanks for any tips/links/etc

Oct 19, 2005 at 5:43 PM Post #2 of 17
Quote:

Originally Posted by nanahachi
I am sick, and just want to listen to some tunes at work to make the day go by more quickly.

However, I am getting lots of distortion from my Supermacro V3. Yes, the batteries may be drained, thus it would make sense why I am getting static. However, I plugged in my recently-received Coby AC adapter and plugged it into the SM. Still, I am getting the distortion.

I will try charging the batteries tonight at home, but is there anything I can do while here at work?

The amp does not power on with only the AC adapter plugged in, without batteries. (I'm new to the adapter, and have yet to read up on its functionality. bad me.)

thanks for any tips/links/etc

The distortion is most likely due to low power, had it with mine once. It should run on psu power only as that's the way Xin recommends trying opamp swapping with circuit boards out of the case. Again I've done that so as standard battery power is definitely optional.