[Help] DAC, Amp or None
Jul 8, 2017 at 4:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

RomStar

Head-Fier
Hello everyone,

I am very new to audio and all this, but I very much appreciate my sound (And thank Head-Fi for that)

Now, I have never owned an Amp or DAC, but I know what they do. However I'm very confused in what to invest in, and it seems people generally get Amps before Dacs (Could be wrong)

My Tech: (Barebones ATM)

Galaxy Note 5 Exyonos With Wolfson DAC

KZ ZS5
Rock Zircons
Re-Max D610
Beats Tour 2

Now I rarely use my PC for listening to music, and I stream all my music via Spotify (Extreme Quality). I also use a few FLAC files for listening offline as well.

Now can anyone suggest what my next upgrade should? I also have a very vague idea about Headphone Impedance, so any info on that is appreciated.

So do I invest in a new DAC or Amp with my current items? Or am I better off just getting better and more expensive IEMs/Headphones?

I mostly use IEMs as I'm on the move, and very rarely use Headphones. Any suggestion or guidance regarding this is highly appreciated :)

- RomStar

Edit: Budget Around $200-150 (Either IEMs, DAC or AMP)

Preferences: I prefer clarity and crispness, not into excessive bass

I also like neutral sound signatures, i tend to listen to a lot of genres of music

Genres I listen to most: EDM, Rock, Indie/Alt Rock, RnB, Rap (No Classical)

Last edited:
Jul 8, 2017 at 6:37 AM Post #2 of 13
I'd strongly suggest buying new headphones before you bother with any amp or dac, perhaps if you list your budget, listening environment, preferred sound, and what theyd be used for (gaming, movies, music, all of that) then we could help steer you in the right direction! Buying gear for your beats isn't quite worth it :p

Jul 8, 2017 at 7:17 AM Post #3 of 13
Hello everyone,

I am very new to audio and all this, but I very much appreciate my sound (And thank Head-Fi for that)