Headphones vs Speakers comparison (equivalences in qualities for different prices)
Dec 4, 2005 at 3:24 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

Aryolkary

100+ Head-Fier
I have very little experience with headphones and speakers, luckily I will have more with time. Just curious (and very interested about a certain pair of speakers) how would you compare headphones to speakers when it comes to:
Detail
Neutrality (flat, uncoloured)
Realism (not punchy bass for non-punchy bass recordings such as classical, and maybe punchy bass for punchy bass recordings such as hip hop, etc.
tongue.gif
)
Enjoyment
Etc. Etc.

Are 100usd headphones good as 600usd speakers? Is there something like headphones being as good as speakers 6 times its price, or 10 times? Or does it depend on how good the headphone is (maybe 50usd cans are good as 200usd speakers -4 times- but maybe 500usd cans are good as 5000usd speakers -10 times-)
If you could make a list also, it would be superdoopergreat
tongue.gif

I am REALLY interested in knowing how good these speakers are when comparing them to headphones:
[size=medium]Swans M200 [/size]
hivi-m-200_b.jpg

http://www.swanspeaker.com/product/htm/view.asp?id=3
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836136102

I care mostly for classical and jazz, bossa nova, etc. Not so much for rock and other genres.
Thanks

Dec 4, 2005 at 5:11 AM Post #2 of 29
The ratio varies depending on the Phones and Speakers involved, but Headphones ALWAYS give better sound quality for the money at any price range. Everything from $5 Earbuds to the $15,000 Orpheus will sound better than comparably priced speakers.

Dec 4, 2005 at 5:34 AM Post #3 of 29
Quote:

Originally Posted by Arainach
The ratio varies depending on the Phones and Speakers involved, but Headphones ALWAYS give better sound quality for the money at any price range. Everything from $5 Earbuds to the $15,000 Orpheus will sound better than comparably priced speakers.