Headphones vs amps?
Apr 30, 2012 at 12:35 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

pe3ucTop

Head-Fier
Hey there people, I'm completely new to the audiophile scene so I need a little bit of guidance.

The prevailing advice I've heard as a novice getting into photography was "get better glass over better camera"(when on budget) with the idea that, first, good glass gives you better pics, and second you can still use the better lenses on higher end cameras later, if you want to upgrade your system, as lenses don't get outdated as quickly as cameras. I was wondering what's the case with headphones and amps/dacs/sources?

If you had a set budget where would you spend it? Headphones? Amp/DAC? Source? Would you rather have an OK pair of headphones, with great dac/amp or great headphones and OK dac/amp? Or is it not as clearcut decision as it is in photography? Where should a novice focus his budget?

I am currently waiting for my Shure SRH840 I ordered last week. They are going to be my very first audiophile headphones and I am pretty excited to hear the difference between them and my current 10 bucks headphones.

Apr 30, 2012 at 2:26 PM Post #3 of 16

Quote:
Hey there people, I'm completely new to the audiophile scene so I need a little bit of guidance.

The prevailing advice I've heard as a novice getting into photography was "get better glass over better camera"(when on budget) with the idea that, first, good glass gives you better pics, and second you can still use the better lenses on higher end cameras later, if you want to upgrade your system, as lenses don't get outdated as quickly as cameras. I was wondering what's the case with headphones and amps/dacs/sources?

If you had a set budget where would you spend it? Headphones? Amp/DAC? Source? Would you rather have an OK pair of headphones, with great dac/amp or great headphones and OK dac/amp? Or is it not as clearcut decision as it is in photography? Where should a novice focus his budget?