headphone amp or receiver?
Apr 25, 2008 at 4:04 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 34

jujulio

100+ Head-Fier
Hi , first thing i am a noob so don't blame me! ^^
i have a a HD650, and i intend to use a computer ass source with many flac songs. I intend to use a USB dac probably KECES 151...but then what comes after?

i would mainly use my HD650....but maybe speakers too who knows? (i don't!!)

so what about a receiver? The thing is, headphone amps are specially designed for hps whereas receivers are mainly for speakers...am i wrong?

so what about SQ if i chose a receiver over a hp amp?

Apr 25, 2008 at 4:51 PM Post #2 of 34
What's your budget?

Truth be told, I think some of the headphone amps are WAY overpriced.

For $500, you can get a very decent receiver/integrated amp that can power speakers. Yet some headphone amps cost double, triple that amount. I just don't see how this price disparity or even parity can be justified.

I guess for headphone amps you pay for that boutique factor.

Take a look at some Harman Kardon stereo receivers, or the new Onkyo integrated digital amp (don't remember the model number), they are very favorably reviewed.

Apr 25, 2008 at 5:23 PM Post #3 of 34
I am in the same boat. I do like Little dot's MK IV SE and MKV. I am leaning on getting the MKV as my first amp with my 650s. I also really like the WooAudio 6. RSA has some great amps too.

Everyone likes to hear different things and lot of sellers have satisfaction guarantees so you can send it back if you don't like it.

I can defiantly tell the lower end of my 650 is just not where it could be. I am sure that some more experience people will chime in soon.

Apr 25, 2008 at 5:30 PM Post #4 of 34
i was going for the little MKV but tubes are said to tighten up a lot the bass, unfortunately i have no idea of the price range for receivers, will look from now, thanks for your reply i will start with onkyo

Apr 25, 2008 at 6:43 PM Post #5 of 34
Quote: