Headphone Amp / DAC + Astro Mixamp + Other Questions
Mar 21, 2014 at 3:14 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Melee

Head-Fier
I am building a decent system for my desktop PC. It will be used for approximately 40% Gaming, 40% Music, 20% Movies and TV Shows. Right now, I've ordered a pair of Sennheiser G4ME Ones + Sennheiser G4ME Zeros (their new red/white gaming headsets) to test and see if one of them fits my needs. If not, I'll probably swap to something like a pair of AKG K712s, Sennheiser HD650s, or something along those lines.

My first question is will an Astro Mixamp make a great addition to a setup since I will be playing games quite a bit and that will enable surround sound? I'm not sure how well it would work to drive these headsets/headphones or whether it would need an additional amp or dac to provide enough power. I haven't tried a real amp + dac setup yet so I have no experience on how different it would be or if the virtual surround sound would even be worth it when compared. I have tried the Mixamp but it was with the Astro A40 headset, which I'm not that crazy about. Would the Mixamp replace either the Amp or DAC?

As for the Amp and DAC, have there been any new releases in the past year or so that are top in bang for your buck right now? I was researching this quite a lot back then and I believe that the Schiit Magni and Modi were regarded as amazing for the price at that time. I think the Fiio E09K + E07/E17 were also highly revered then. Are these still the go to setups and what would be an ideal combination in reference to other components in a system?

My final question is how do computer sound cards factor into the mix? I know some of them have built in Amps but I have no clue if they are worth the purchase or only useful if you aren't utilizing a dedicated separate Amp and DAC.