Head-amp as mic pre-amp??
post-218118
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

Infinite5ths

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Posts
14
Likes
0
OK, I may be crazy, but I just had a brainstorm. Is there any reason that a CMOY or META42 style amp could not be used as an external microphone pre-amp for an electret microphone (or microphones)? I know the mics would need a separate power source (you don't need to fill me in on that -- I have the circuits/info already). I'm just wondering why one couldn't plug two electret mics (with PS) into the input of one of these head-amps to obtain a line-level output.

The reason I ask is that I'm told the built-in mic pre-amp in my Sony MD recorder is pretty noisy (and I DEFINITELY agree). I'm also told that if you use an external pre-amp you can record through the LINE-IN jack on the MD recorder with MUCH better quality. That would be a BIG plus for recording my violin with my MD setup (especially for recording audition/competition tapes). Are these head-amps up to this task, or would I need a better quality (i.e. more amplification w/ less noise) circuit?

If this works, I might even be able to get credit in my physics of music class (humanities credit) for building a head-amp -- and the school might even pay for part of it! :-]

The crazy music school student...
--
Mike
 
     Share This Post       
post-218917
Post #3 of 7

jcstoke

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Posts
9
Likes
0
*top*

I'm curious about this too....anybody?
 
     Share This Post       
post-219068
Post #4 of 7

Infinite5ths

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Posts
14
Likes
0
I guess that if nobody knows, then there is only one way to find out... :-]

I also guess that a low-cost amp (CMOY maybe??) and $3 RadioShack electret would be a good place to start.
 
     Share This Post       
post-219178
Post #5 of 7

DanG

Headphoneus Supremus
Moderator
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
4,796
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Posts
4,796
Likes
10
I've been told that it's possible by people who know more than I do, and from what I understand the function is the same.
 
     Share This Post       
post-219236
Post #6 of 7

jcstoke

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Posts
9
Likes
0
I just orderd a few of these panasonics from digikey. I guess when I get my cmoy put together we'll have a verdict. This site has some ideas for how to wire it:µMicrophone (the microphones...not the Cmoy)
Now if I can only track down some gooseneck it would look like this (with a preamp of course!).....




JC
 
     Share This Post       
post-219446
Post #7 of 7

Infinite5ths

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Posts
14
Likes
0
Let me know what results you get. You know that you'll need a PS or battery box to power the mic elements, right? This website has info on making a battery box for stereo or mono electret mic setups: http://home.earthlink.net/~gottapes/micdiyers/main.htm

Select "Binaural Stereo Mics" or "Binaural Mono Mics" in the left navigation column for schematics.

--
Mike
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top