HE-400, HD 600, or HD 650?
Jun 30, 2014 at 4:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Hyjacked

New Head-Fier
Okay, so I have been doing some research but I am new to open headphones, so I would love some input. My budget for open headphones is around $300-450. The amp that I plan to use is the O2/ODAC.

From my understanding, the HE-400 is a wonderful bang for the buck and also has a "fun" factor in the sense that it has a certain "punch" specifically in the bass and treble that is not natural sounding not to say that it is bad sounding. The HD 600, however, again from my understanding, is quite a bit more natural sounding as well as lighter weight and also more forgiving when it comes to sibilance. Then there is the HD 650 which is a more "refined" signature? Exactly what that means, I'm not sure, hence why I could use some help.

So what am I looking for in a pair of open headphones?

I enjoy a lot of vocal music, especially female vocals, but also like the occasional electronic genre song, but the thing is, I have PSB M4U 1's that suit my needs, I feel, for electronic music. I really want open headphones to bring out great vocals, but I would like them to remain balanced or neutral like my M4U 1's. Bass is not majorly important to me but it's not that I don't like bass. From what I have read, the HD 600's are a great neutral option.

Also, I know "reading" won't give me the experience of actually trying the headphones on, so where can one listen to high end headphones in store?

Thank you for helping.

Jun 30, 2014 at 9:44 AM Post #2 of 10
I analyzed the results of head-fi.org folks headphone preferences from the thread "Rank The Headphones That You Own." The link is in my signature line.

Here are the nine rank-ordered lists of those people that ranked both the HE-400 and either the HD-600 or the HD-650 (or in some cases, both).  Higher on the list means that headphone was rated higher.

Hope this helps you.

Jul 1, 2014 at 10:48 PM Post #5 of 10