HD380 Pro VS Momentums
Dec 11, 2013 at 10:42 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

emjayoh

New Head-Fier
Hello all, first post... happy to be here!

I am a software engineer and listen to headphones > 8 hours per day. I currently own HD595s and HD380pro, with a FiiO E17. I got the 595s first and typically use them for home listening and situations where leakage is not an issue. I fell in love with the Sennheiser sound signature and instantly knew that I would most likely never consider buying another brand (I tend to be very brand-loyal, especially with things I'm passionate about).

I found the HD380s at Best Buy for $99 and thought I could use some closed-ear phones for the office (coworkers had complained about my 595s -- haha). Did a minimal amount of research and figured for $99 I couldn't go wrong. I am very pleased with them, and I especially like the bass increase over the 595. However, the soundstage isn't quite as good... and there is just something about them that doesn't quite fulfill me like the 595s. I guess I feel like it just leaves something to be desired.

I have been looking at the Momentums for a while. I was actually going to get them over the 380s, but I really could not pass on the $99 sale at the time. I am now thinking that money should not matter as much when I'm going to be using the cans as much as I do... so it really got me thinking about shelling out the cash and just getting the better headphone.

That being said, I have not found any definitive comparisons between HD380s and Momentums. If I'm going to be spending $300 on a set I want to be sure that I'm not downgrading my performance in any way... 

I realize that they are made for different purposes, but I am not really understanding the differences ("studio" vs "audiophile"?)