Graham slee voyager for hd650
Feb 22, 2010 at 7:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

noxa

500+ Head-Fier
Hello
I am new to anything amp related so need advice from knowledgable people. At the moment I am running my ie8 direct from my iPhone and like the sound alot but I have recently been wanting some full size headphones for comfort as I find iem's painful for extended listening. I would like to get the hd650 as I know I really like the sennheiser sound. I am leaning toward the voyager as I have heard alot of good and I'm in the uk so it makes sense so basically

Will the voyager improve my ie8 from my iPhone

will the voyager run the hd650 and other high impedence to a high standard and high volume

any help is much apreciated
thank you

Feb 23, 2010 at 12:33 AM Post #2 of 12
Its a pretty good amp for the 650, but of course a home amp is better. The Voyager isn't the best iem amp, but it does a decent job with dynamic 16Ω phones - just not phenomenal. As for volume, you'd be surprised how the HD650 can get loud from any source - that isn't the problem. The problem is how good it can sound. It really firms up with better control and for that, more voltage.

I think the Voyager is probably one of the best portable amps for the HD650 and considering its price (which is less than a few others), it is an excellent buy.

Just for reference: Graham Slee Voyager in Review

Feb 23, 2010 at 1:11 AM Post #3 of 12
When the Voyager first went into production Graham had a high gain version which would not be good for iem's or low impedance cans but for the likes of the HD650 it would be better. However due to your multi use needs the low version will give you the most satisfaction. Have you considered a home amp?

Feb 23, 2010 at 10:31 AM Post #4 of 12