Good amp for multiple headphones
Nov 30, 2005 at 5:33 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

utarch00

500+ Head-Fier
I am looking for a good amp that will work for all types of headphones. Something that has adjustibility. I am looking at the micro amp. I was just wondering if there are any others to consider. My budget is roughly $300.

Nov 30, 2005 at 7:07 PM Post #3 of 12
I want something that I can use for low impedance and high impedance headphones. I do not want to have to roll opamps.

i am new to this and I want to only have to buy one multipurpose amp to use with several different headphones. Currently I am considering Senns 595, Beyer 990, and some sort of Grado or Allesandro.

Nov 30, 2005 at 7:19 PM Post #4 of 12
Well, most of the popular amps discussed on these forums, can drive all those cans, well enough. The SR-71, from Ray Samuels Audio, is an excelent all around amp, and is portable. I have a Micro amp w/Desktop Module, and it is a very fine amp, and I never need to change the gain from the medium setting. The Xin Supermacro, is another good choice. Any of those, and you can't go wrong!
icon10.gif

Nov 30, 2005 at 7:35 PM Post #5 of 12
I like the gilmore Lite at this price point. The amp does as you ask and sounds good with many different headphones. Plus the Lite has the advantages of an upgradeable power supply for the future and a very nice loop out feature. I especially like this amp with the senn 600/650 and the grado sr-225.
smily_headphones1.gif

www.headamp.com

Nov 30, 2005 at 7:40 PM Post #6 of 12
from what ive read (not heard), the Gilmore Lite seems to do very well with both Grados and Senns, which have very different needs.

It seems to match your budget (especially used) and has no opamps to role. and like SACD_lover said, you can always upgrade it later.

yay!

Nov 30, 2005 at 8:15 PM Post #7 of 12