"Genre-Specific" Headphones?
Apr 28, 2009 at 9:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Silenced

100+ Head-Fier
I have been browsing Head-Fi for a while and wondering this. I seem to have read some conflicting opinions. There is the opinion that an "accurate" headphone can play any genre without trouble. Then there is the opinion that ones needs multiple headphones because "genre-specific" headphones exist. I am just getting into the headphone game and my tastes are hugely varied (from folk to electronic and jazz to metal... anything and everything) so I am wondering if I need multiple headphones to enjoy my music?

Apr 28, 2009 at 9:45 PM Post #2 of 16
IMO, no... One headphone should be enough; an 'accurate' phone should be able to play ALL types of genres. I think the issue,more or less, comes into play with the way music is mastered\mixed, some people tend to use the phones, amps..etc. as 'tone controls'.

Ideally, your setup should play nicely with each other and give you exactly what's in the track.

Apr 29, 2009 at 12:38 AM Post #4 of 16
You can go either way with this. There are several excellent all-around headphones; I'd recommend buying one of those as a first headphone.

The problem is that you'll eventually get curious about other headphones. You'll probably end up with a few and find yourself swapping based on what you're listening to. That's fun, but pick something that does well with everything for your first pair.

Apr 29, 2009 at 12:48 AM Post #5 of 16
Quote:

Originally Posted by Silenced /img/forum/go_quote.gif