Free turntable but needs cart.
Nov 14, 2009 at 5:29 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

lozanoa11

100+ Head-Fier
Well i got ahold of a free Garrard model 770 turntable today! Its in kinda rough shape but it spins! I am in need of a cartridge b/c it is lacking one.
Should I be able to use any cart I wish? Or will it require some sort of adapter?
Im having trouble finding any info on this turntable at all.
Ill get pics in the morning.

If i can use a regular cart what do you guys recommend? I would like to keep it under $100. I was looking at the Grado carts b/c i figure they would go well with my headphones.

Thanks for the help, i can truly say I am a vinyl Noob!

Nov 14, 2009 at 5:59 AM Post #2 of 13
Congrats on you turntable, you need to choose between moving magnet (mm) or moving coil (mc) cartridges. Generally mc’s are preferred by “audiophiles” but their low output requires better amplification stages, I would probably go with a mm to start with.
You will also need a phono stage which is either build into your amp or is separate.

Nov 14, 2009 at 6:39 AM Post #3 of 13
Have you tried vinylengine.co.uk? They have information on lots of turntables; I don't know if they have the manual for yours, but it is worth checking.

Grado makes nice cartridges - I've used their Gold and Platinum models - but another budget cart to consider is the Shure MX97E. It's affordable and it sounds great.

Nov 14, 2009 at 1:55 PM Post #4 of 13
PB130044-1.jpg

PB130046-1.jpg

PB130047-1.jpg

PB130048-1.jpg

PB130049-1.jpg

So What is the black part that has the 4 wires on it at the end of the tonearm?
How will that work with another cart?
Is this a standard mount?
And What is that adjustment on the top right of the table not on the tonearm?

Thanks, I have some cleaning to do!
Edit: man i always forget this site does not resize pics lol, ill fix them. Edit2: fixed

Nov 14, 2009 at 2:39 PM Post #5 of 13